Vegan Lip Balm: A Review and Confession in Three Parts (Part 3)

In case you  missed them, here are parts 1 and 2 of this series:

http://elizabethly.wordpress.com/2014/02/27/vegan-lip-balm-part-1/

http://elizabethly.wordpress.com/2014/02/28/vegan-lip-balm-part-2/

Now, then. I told you in Part 1 that I received a shipment of lip balms in Wednesday’s mail, and immediately sent my husband an excited message. We debated getting another order from Crazy Rumors, because we love them, but then I remembered another company that I had heard good things about and been meaning to try:

Hurraw!

Hurraw’s selection may be a little smaller than some other companies, but the flavors all looked good (unlike some companies who have many varieties, but few you actually want to try). I had read good things on Amazon about the Moon Balm, and was very eager to try it, because bedtime is “chippy” time in our household. (Chippy is our very mature nickname for chap-stick, which Chris will probably wish I hadn’t shared.)

Moon Balm

Moon Balm

We’ll talk more about the Moon Balm in a minute.

I initially had planned on including Hurraw! balms in an Amazon order, but several reviewers mentioned that it was cheaper to order directly from the Hurraw! website. I took a peek, and that turned out to definitely be the case. Anyway, it’s nice to support a nifty company like theirs by ordering directly, so I was happy to do it.

While browsing the options, the next thing that caught my eye was Vata balm. I thought to myself, ‘hey, that’s an Ayurvedic thing.’ I remember taking a dosha quiz online one time, and that’s one of the doshas. Ayurveda is traditional medicine/wisdom from India, and back when I was way more into herbalism, I was very interested in Ayurveda.

I actually use an Ayurvedic toothpaste that my husband hates because of the licorice taste, but which I love, and which gets my mouth cleaner than anything else I’ve ever tried. (Check it out – it’s called Auromère and it’s worth the extra cost.)

Anyway, Ayurvedic anything is sure to pique my interest, so I took a look at their three dosha-inspired balms — Vata, Pitta, and Kapha. I decided I liked the scent combination of the Vata best, and I figured it might have a nice effect on the anxiety issues I’ve recently been experiencing, so I added it to my virtual cart.

There's something to be said for a lovely label, don't you think?

There’s something to be said for a lovely label, don’t you think?

After that, I picked out a cinnamon-infused tinted balm, then gave Chris the list of flavors so he could choose his own. He went with a nice, classic vanilla bean, and the SPF 15 sun balm, flavored with vanilla, chamomile, and tangerine. Scrumptious.

When they arrived, they came in a simple USPS brown cardboard sleeve, with a little brown paper inside to wrap them up. This packaging was likely the most minimal so far. There were friendly little notes jotted here and there on the invoice, one of which was to let me know that they had sent me an extra balm on the house!

Perhaps worried that I’d find the cinnamon a little too intense, perhaps noting my desire for slightly colored lips, or perhaps just because they felt like rewarding me for ordering four balms, the Hurraw! powers-that-be included a Black Cherry tinted balm, a bit darker than the cinnamon, and with a scent that reminds me of a dark cherry Tootsie Pop. Awesome.

the Hurraw! haul

the Hurraw! haul

Also included in the package were those cute little drawstring bags. ‘Ooh, pouches for the balms!’ I thought to myself. I’ve never had a pouch for my lip balm before. When I looked on the Hurraw! website, however, I discovered the even more excellent truth — those are reuseable tea bags!

According to the bottom of the “About” page on their site, “That little pouch your balm came in (if purchased direct from our site) is a reusable, unbleached cotton tea bag made here in the States from US grown cotton.
*The dye we use to stamp our tea bags is food safe and permanent.”

Is that not just the coolest little extra touch?

You may also have noticed something else in the above photograph — the flattish, oval shape of the tubes. This is also discussed on the About page, and it turns out that the tubes are designed that way so that they will stay in your back pants pocket better. This is an excellent feature for Chris, but I discovered an added benefit. Unlike every other lip balm in my possession, the Hurraw! balm can stay on the top of the bedside table sitting on our uneven bedroom floor without rolling off.

I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve had to get down on the floor to retrieve a renegade chippy that has fallen off the table and escaped under the bed. To not have to deal with this problem is revolutionary, an unexpected blessing.

Not only are these lip balms convenient, but they are just lovely to use. They all smell wonderful, and the oval shape, with the little dip in the center, is fun. Chris likened it to applying the balm with a tiny pair of lips.

I had to try all mine as soon as possible, whereas Chris is somehow managing to wait (at least as of Thursday) until he finishes his old tubes. We did both use the Moon Balm on Wednesday night, and I can’t even express to you how cozy and soporific the scent is. It was like wrapping myself in a favorite blanket and laying down in a field of poppies.

In case I haven’t made it clear, I think the Hurraw! company is going to be my new favorite. I’ll have to give them more of a test run, but so far, so excellent. I was really pleased with the personalized invoice, and thrilled to get a bonus balm for free. I appreciate being enabled in my vices.

With this new shipment, however, I have pretty much turned into the crazy cat lady of lip balms. With the exception of the one Chris has with him, this next photo contains all the balms currently in our household. Keep in mind that only three of the ones depicted are Chris’s.

shameful.

shameful.

You’d seen the other pictures, with the brands separated, so you knew it had to be bad, but really — who has this many lip balms? There are eleven there for my exclusive* use. Eleven.

*Okay, not exclusive. Not only does Chris use my lip balm at night, but anytime we are out somewhere together, he asks me if I have any on me, then borrows it. This only partially justifies my having such a quantity in my possession.

So, now you know my dirty secret. I just can’t get enough of the stuff. I want them all. I want all the vegan lip balms, and I want them now.

Actually, it turns out that I’d be happy with just all the Hurraw! balms. That would be perfectly adequate.

One Comment on “Vegan Lip Balm: A Review and Confession in Three Parts (Part 3)”

  1. […] Vegan Lip Balm: A Review and Confession in Three Parts (Part 3) Vegan Lip Balm: A Review and Confession in Three Parts (Part 1) […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers