Streaking

…but not in the way you’re thinking.

As of this morning, I have run every day for 7 straight days.  I have decided that the best way to avoid getting into a no-running slump is to not skip any days at all.  When I take a break from running for a day, it often turns into two, which then generally turns into at least a few weeks.

Not this time, however!  I was inspired by a post on No Meat Athlete from a little while ago, which is about the author’s 50-day running streak.  I learned a lot and it really made me want to get out and run every day.  It has only been a week for me, but it hasn’t been easy to do it every morning.

Yesterday I threw a tantrum and almost didn’t go out because my Five Fingers were wet.  I had run in the rain on Friday, which was less than awesome but not as bad as I had feared.  I then gave my shoes a nice soak in soapy water (with Dr. Bronner’s, the best soap in the world), swished and rinsed, and then left them out on the porch to dry.  I don’t know if they stayed wet or dried and got wet again with the dew and humidity, but they were drenched and just nasty-feeling when I began to put them on.  I did not want to deal with that at all, so I decided to skip a day.

Less than 5 minutes later, I marched myself back to the front hall where I had thrown the shoes like a two-year-old, put them on my feet, and left the house.  I ended up running just under 2 miles, and having a much better morning after I got over myself and hit the pavement.

This morning I was fortunate enough to have my husband’s company during my run, and I was smart enough to make sure I didn’t try to  match his pace, but let him match mine instead.  We had a great time, got rained on but didn’t care, did some hills, and finished just under the 2 ¼ mile mark.  (If I’d known at the time that we were at 2.23, I would have pushed the extra half block or so, because I like my mileage to be even numbers or in tidy increments of 5.  We all have our quirks.)

I feel good about this running streak idea.  I think I’ll see just how far I can take it.  A week may not be much in the grand scheme of things, but it could be the start of something much bigger.


One Comment on “Streaking”

  1. Chris says:

    His article did the same for me. I was in the middle of a running slump & I decided to start an open ended streak. Day 16 of streak for me today. Keep up the great work & have fun running.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 400 other followers