Here’s where I tell you something without really telling you anything.

You may have noticed that I haven’t been doing much blogging lately.  I thought this might happen.  I spent a lot of time on the couch doing nothing when I was sick, which meant very frequent posts on both of my blogs, and now that I’m feeling better, I’ve found other things to do with my time.I haven’t been neglecting writing entirely, however.  I’ve been working on my book here and there, which is beginning to take on a life of its own.  New characters have presented themselves to me, just popped into my head while I was doing other things.  I have been taking notes of all the different ideas that keep coming up, at times when my novel is the furthest thing from my mind.  It’s very interesting.  I’ve been trying to take them all into account and do them justice.

new goodies!
I left the top page blank so it stays super secret.

I finished copying over what I had written in a different notebook, with other bits of writing in and amongst the pieces of story I had in there.  I went to the store and picked up some white legal pads so that I could use those exclusively for the book.  I was unable to find college-ruled pads, which irked me, but once I started re-reading and editing what I had, I was glad for the space that wide-ruled provides – there is a great deal of room for marking it up and writing in changes.  I bought a pair of red pens specifically for that, which makes it feel much more official.

I will eventually want to type up what I have written, so that I can get a word count and be able to move things around with greater ease.  At the moment, however, I am really enjoying writing in longhand.  It has been quite a while since I was required to do so, so my muscles aren’t used to it and get tired quickly.  I’m retraining myself.

John Irving, my author crush
(photo credit: wikipedia)

I admit that part of the reason I want to write with pen and paper is because that’s how John Irving writes, and I admire him so much.  He also writes the end of a book before the rest of it, which I find interesting.  I don’t know if that will ever happen for me.

So far, I’ve been letting my characters lead the story, and I’m not sure where we’ll all end up.  It’s such an intriguing process.  I don’t quite understand how that works, but it seems I don’t need to.  It just happens on its own.

Aside from my being healthier and doing some other non-blog writing, life is a bit busy and complicated right now, and it may be a while before things settle down.  I’m being cagey because there are some things in the works that may or may not pan out, and I cannot talk about them with any certainty.   I like to keep my cards close to my chest most of the time, but when there is something definite to tell, I’ll tell.

I am trying to make sure that I spend some time on WordPress with reasonable regularity, but there are other priorities.  I’ll do my best.  That’s all anyone can ever do, right?

2 Comments on “Here’s where I tell you something without really telling you anything.”

  1. elskenewman says:

    I much prefer actaul writing to typing, it feels more personal for some reason. I also enjoy the way it gives you more time to think because I write much slower than I type.

    Like

    • I agree! It does feel more personal. I type pretty quickly too, so sometimes I prefer typing if I know exactly what I want to say and don’t want to be slowed down. On the other hand, if I’m struggling to come up with words, it’s nice that when writing long-hand, there’s less idle time! I choose my writing method to match the pace of my brain that day. ;)

      Like


Leave a Reply

